More on the Cooper’s Hawk family

Good perch.

Good perch.

This morning the camera memory chip was still in my computer and the camera on my table in front of the keyboard. I thought I’d put it back together before getting started this am. As I was reassembling the camera I glanced out the window and saw one of the baby hawks sitting on the pickup. I hurried to get the batteries back in the camera before it flew off.  There was no need to hurry, the entire family was outside and they hung around for awhile.

Got away this time.

Got away this time.

As I was soon to find out, there is a reason they were hanging around the pickup. A young cottontail darted from under the pickup seeking shelter under another pickup parked nearby. Moments later he made a mad dash for the safety of a wisteria vine about 20 yards away. I think the hawks had picked up on my presents and did not pursue the rabbit.

Excuse the quality of the pictures as I was shooting through a dirty window with the rising sun glare on it.

This baby didn't see the rabbit run.

This baby didn’t see the rabbit run.

This baby still looking.

This baby still looking.

I think I'll just sit here and wait.

I think I’ll just sit here and wait.

Leave a Reply

