Two Coopers Hawks

Coopers Hawk

I’ve been having some knee problems, so, I haven’t ridden my trike for a couple of weeks. This week I made some gearing changes that I hope will ease the knee problems. This morning I decided to take a short 5 mile ride and try out the new lower gears on the trike.
As pictured below, we now have a Coopers Hawk on our property. As I left the house, near a stand of pines, a hawk jumped from the ground to a fence post. I came to a stop about 30 feet away. Another hawk took flight from the same area and flew right over my head not 10 feet above me. The hawk on the fence and I sat motionless for at least 5 minutes. I could hear the other hawk calling from a distance behind me. Finally the hawk on the fence gave the same shrill call and joined the other in flight. They both landed in a dead oak about 100 yards away.   .
I have seen one or the other hawk for the last several days, it was not until our encounter this morning that I knew there were two.  I still don’t know if this is a pair of Coopers Hawks or a mother and offspring. Either way, it’s way cool to have them around.

Leave a Reply

